Holidays that I miss celebrating the most in America!

In Spain of course there are lots of holidays and traditions but there are certain days I really wish I could spend back at home.

The first one is Halloween!!! 🎃 One of the most fun times of the year. I miss going to Target to buy a bunch of decorations and making my yard look all creepy but cute at the same time. I loved going all out! I have so many memories trick or treating as a kid. We always went to the nicer neighborhoods to get better candy of course 😄. And all those Halloween parties! My brother’s best friend’s family hosted one every year. They had a huge yard with this super creepy forest in the back where they put a haunted trail, that we walked through in little groups. I was legit scared, they did good! Towards the end there was a headless dude chasing everyone out the to end of the trail 😂 I wish I could revisit these times just for a day!

In college of course there were a lot of Halloween parties, and I probably went to most of them. Me and my girls would go to the costume store weeks before. It was like an event to us lol. Sounds kinda dumb now but back then when I was 21…It was a good time! After getting bored at the parties we’d go downtown to the bars where everyone was also dressed up. Good drinks and good vibes.

The next one is the Fourth of July. Again, so many memories growing up. My family would always head down to the lake in the morning, where we set up a tent, brought lots of snacks and just chilled. I’d dress up in my red white and blue outfit and we’d walk around downtown, get some ice cream, or chill at the beach. Then as soon as the sun went down we’d watch the fireworks blasting over the water. I did this every year up until I left the U.S. It was a big tradition, and I looked forward to it every year. And every year my dad would make us leave five minuets early because he was convinced it was the only way to beat traffic 😄. Fireworks usually took place on the 3rd, and on the 4th we’d all get together and have a big BBQ at my uncle’s house. It was fun to just relax outside and enjoy the day together. Sometimes it makes me sad that my kids won’t really get to experience these holidays the way I did as a kid.

With Thanksgiving being right around the corner, it’s hard not to think about all of the family quality time and amazing food I’ll be missing out on. Everyone would get together at my grandma’s house to eat, watch football, play games, dance, and catch up. My aunt always made the most mouth watering baked mack and cheese. I’ve been craving this so bad lately! And don’t even get me started on the sweet potatoe pie….WHY IS THERE NO THANKSGIVING IN SPAIN?? Well I know it’s an American holiday but I think we should make this one worldwide 😋 Next year I think I’m going to invite my in-laws over and make everything myself!

Our other tradition for this day, (like many Americans) was to stay up all night, and head to Walmart at midnight to go Black Friday shopping, then to the mall straight after. It was always crazy and hectic but I loved it! We would be tired as hell the next day but it’s seriously the best time to do some extreme Christmas shopping. I could not do black Friday without stopping at Bath and Body works, my weakness. Sadly, there isn’t one here in Spain! 😮 I’m really missing home right about now!

And lastly, that leads me to the most wonderful time of the year, Christmas! Of course we celebrate it here in Spain as well, but it’s just not the same without all of my family around. I also miss driving around at night and seeing how creative people get with their Christmas lights. Here in Spain you do some people putting out a few lights but Americans really do go all out with this one! In Barcelona they have a lot of lights decorating the city around this time, but I live in a smaller town so I don’t get to see them too often.

When I lived in Chicago, they would set up the trains to look like sleighs, and have music, flashing lights, everything! On the inside and out. It made riding to work those days something extra special. I miss baking cookies from scratch with my mom every year, and making them look all cute with cookie cutters and different colored frostings. I even miss the snow. lol December 25th is just not the same without it. On my first Christmas here in Spain it was so warm, I don’t think I even wore a coat outside that day. I couldn’t complain, but it was definetly different than what I was used to. I had to convince myself that it was really Christmas that day! Or really even December for that matter! 😄

This time of the year can be kinda emotional for me, because of all of the holidays I wish I could spend back at home. But luckily I still get to celebrate Christmas with my in-laws and many of the other holidays here I have learned about. We’ve made our own new traditions, and every year we go up north to pick out our own Christmas tree. It’s kinda funny though, because my hubby makes an attempt every year to keep it alive as long as possible. I’d say it only makes it about 5 months, and I know people are probably wondering why we still have this big ass pine tree on our balcony in May when it’s almost 90 degrees farenheight 🤔…😂

For those of you out there who have moved abroad, are there any holidays you really miss back at home?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close